Angel Cakes

Reviews

  • Good selection

    Good selection of cupcakes

    • From Richard Velasquez
    • 10/10/18
    • via Google
  • The cupcakes were wonderful.

    They catered our wedding. The cupcakes were wonderful. The presentation was beautiful. I highly recommend them.

    • From Guy Gayle
    • 10/10/18
    • via Google
  • Fantastic

    Strawberry cupcakes are fantastic!

    • From Bianca Hunt
    • 10/10/18
    • via Google
  • We were so pleased with the cake!

    Thank you for the awesome dairy, egg and nut free cake for my Son's birthday. His allergies make it hard to find treats and we were so pleased with the cake! None of the kids could tell the difference. You guys rock! Thank you!!!!

    • From Joti Rakkar-Gill
    • 10/10/18
    • via Facebook
  • All of our guests raved about how delicious and moist the cupcakes were

    My fiancé and I ordered cupcakes from Angel Cakes for our engagement party last month and we couldn't be more satisfied! All of our guests raved about how delicious and moist the cupcakes were and how they wanted to try all of the flavors! We ordered the red velvet, champagne, white chocolate raspberry and salted chocolate and they were all so yummy! Thanks Jen, for helping to make our engagement party extra sweet!

    • From Courtney B.
    • 10/09/18
    • via Yelp
  • The cake was awesome, moist and not super sweet.

    We asked for a red velvet and it was perfect for the event on the USS Hornet. The cake was awesome, moist and not super sweet.  Everyone enjoyed it. Thank you!

    • From Monique F
    • 10/09/18
    • via Yelp message
  • Best cupcakes I’ve ever had

    Neighborhood sweets dealer.
    Daily gluten-free option.
    Always a train passing overhead.
    Best cupcakes I've ever had.
    ��

    • From Perry “Paris” Ellis
    • 10/04/18
    • via Google
  • The cupcakes were ready on time and DELICIOUS!

    Delicious cupcakes!  I placed a very last-minute, customized order for my son's first birthday when I realized I wouldn't have time to make 42 cupcakes and Jen at Angel cakes kindly accommodated and was really wonderful to deal with.  The cupcakes were ready on time and DELICIOUS!  I ordered the chocolate and vanilla cupcakes as well as 3, vegan and 1 gluten-free and everyone raved about them.  Thank you so much and I will definitely only order from you from now on. :)

    • From Amanda G.
    • 10/04/18
    • via Yelp
  • Our guests kept raving about them!

    Angel Cakes was our wedding cupcake and cutting cake vendor. They are the absolute BEST cupcakes we have had in general, and we were so excited to have them for our wedding. Our guests kept raving about them! My favorite part was that the wedding cupcakes were the same cost as they sell them in stores-- no silly markup just because they're for weddings. This also meant that whenever we were in the area, we could go to the storefront and try more flavors, which meant we could take them to our families and have everyone tell us which flavors to get. Finally, they made us a beautiful cutting cake, which was delicious and exactly what we envisioned!

    • From Laurel S.
    • 10/02/18
    • via Yelp
  • I’d definitely buy from them again as they are easy to work with and dependable.

    We ordered 6 dozen mini cupcakes for our wedding reception. I had to make sure to pick them up by 10AM in order to have all logistics go smoothly. They over delivered and had them ready even before 10AM, the opening time. The cupcakes themselves were delicious and well made. Our guests loved them, especially the kids. They looked great too and complemented our wedding cake well. I'd definitely buy from them again as they are easy to work with and dependable.

    • From Hayden H.
    • 09/27/18
    • via Yelp
  • Very tasty!

    Amazing! Very tasty! Very friendly!
     

    • From Amanda Guevara
    • 09/20/18
    • via Google
  • Thanks Angel Cakes, for helping to make my birthday a night to remember!

    So simple and easy to place an order for my party! I ordered a few dozen cupcakes for my birthday party recently. We got the lemon meyer cream and snickers cupcakes. My guests LOVED them! The meyer lemon was especially good. The staff was extremely friendly and easy to communicate with. Thanks Angel Cakes, for helping to make my birthday a night to remember!

    • From Katie L.
    • 09/18/18
    • via Yelp
  • All the guests loved the cupcakes.

    We ordered 168 mini cupcakes for the wedding from Angel Cakes. All the guests loved the cupcakes. They delivered to the restaurant on time. Thanks Angel Cakes.

  • Jen at Angel Cakes was really easy to work with and the cupcakes were fantastic

    We had Angel Cakes cupcakes for our wedding a few weeks back. Jen at Angel Cakes was really easy to work with and the cupcakes were fantastic-even the gluten free versions were amazingly delicious! 
    Before deciding on Angel Cakes we tried cupcakes at several of the bakeries in the east bay and Angel Cakes was by far the best. You’ve gotta try the nectarine sage and old fashioned cocktail cupcakes among the many wonderful flavors they offer!

  • Amazing cupcakes and cakes.

    Amazing cupcakes and cakes. Her fruit flavored ones are like eating the real thing (especially strawberry!) Try the Makana!!

    • From Tanisha Carlile
    • 09/10/18
    • via Google
  • Delicious

    Really great cupcakes in many unique flavors. All delicious.

    • From Chris Derry
    • 09/10/18
    • via Google
  • Everyone loved them!

    The cupcakes were amazing and delicious and looked so beautiful on the stand! Everyone loved them!
    Just a handful were left which we enjoyed the next day!
    Thank you again for helping us make our wedding a great success!

     

    • From Angela B
    • 09/09/18
    • via Email
  • Absolutely delicious.

    Absolutely delicious. Worth the drive and the expense. Little known secret is that they make amazing (!) mini cupcakes for events as well. Vegan option is the best I've ever tasted.

    • From Joanna P.
    • 09/02/18
    • via Yelp
  • I love this place!

    I love this place! I ordered a birthday cake from here as well as birthday cupcakes and just whenever a flavor I like is in store. Follow their Instagram account to find the daily flavors!

    • From Becky L.
    • 08/28/18
    • via Yelp
  • This place probably has the best cupcakes in the bay area.

    This place probably has the best cupcakes in the bay area. the flavors are varied and delicious - cinnamon bun, fresh strawberry, peach, blackberry. Everything I have tried from this place has been exceptional.

    • From Laura G.
    • 08/26/18
    • via Yelp
  • Our cake was a huge hit at our wedding

    Angel cakes did our vegan wedding cake. We went to many other vegan cake shops and no other place had vegan cake so fluffy and soft as Angel Cakes. All of their flavors are soo sooooooo good. We ended up getting pink guava, snickerdoodle, strawberry, and coconut. Our cake was a huge hit at our wedding and so many people came up to us saying that the cake was amazing!!!!! It might have been a vegan cake, but it honestly tasted better than any other cake I have tasted in the past. Vegan or not

    • From Jennifer X.
    • 08/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • It was easy to order and they tasted awesome.

    I ordered 120 cupcakes.  There is a huge selection.  I tried to stick to the most popular ones and they did not disappoint.  It was easy to order and they tasted awesome.

    The location is a little sketchy looking, but there was no problem finding parking.

    Will order from again.

    Thanks Jen!

    • From William W.
    • 08/22/18
    • via Yelp
  • Their vegan cupcakes are so moist and yummy

    Found this place a few years ago and since then I've been hooked. Their vegan cupcakes are so moist and yummy, it's hard to find vegan moist and delicious cupcakes these days. I'm glad I found Angel Cakes

    • From Ruby G.
    • 08/20/18
    • via Yelp
  • I love this little cupcake shop.

    I love this little cupcake shop. Do not be detoured away by the surrounding neighborhood it's a little hidden gem. I always get different cupcakes every time I'm here. Last batch was pina colada and German chocolate cake. So delicious.

    • From Selina G.
    • 08/18/18
    • via Yelp
  • What a great experience working with Jen and her staff at Angel Cakes!

    What a great experience working with Jen and her staff at Angel Cakes! Jen was responsive, professional, provided suggestions when needed and made us an excellent cake exactly as we envisioned. Now I didn't get to actually eat the cake because our guests devoured every last crumb but I took that as a good sign :)

    Thanks Jen, I would happy to work with you again!

    • From Navdeep G.
    • 08/15/18
    • via Yelp
  • Just lovely.

    Always tasty, moist cupcakes that come in a creative variety of flavors. Just lovely.

    • From Jennifer Rice
    • 08/10/18
    • via Google
  • The cake and cupcakes are so pretty.

    Ordered Birthday cake for baby boy and 3 dozen of (very) mini cupcakes. The cake and cupcakes are so pretty. The frosting is too sweet for my taste tho but I won't complain. The only issue was when I ordered cake and cupcakes I kind of lost and I do need recommendation from the staff there but she seemed not in the mood to help. So I ended up order whatever that make cake and cupcakes blue and yellow - nothing extraordinary. Anyway, those cupcakes made my baby boy party looks super fun! Thank you.

    • From Pimprapha S.
    • 08/10/18
    • via Yelp
  • You guys are masters of your craft.

    Your cupcakes were such a big hit!! I am so glad I reached out to a local business; you guys are masters of your craft. 

    • From Christine F
    • 08/06/18
    • via Email
  • Delicious cake!

    Delicious cake! My friend was so happy. Thank you!

    • From Mika Kie Weissbuch
    • 08/04/18
    • via Facebook
  • Every single cake and cupcake I’ve had from here is moist, delicious and just fantastic.

    Every single cake and cupcake I've had from here is moist, delicious and just fantastic. There are few things I love more than cake.. and Angel Cakes definitely has the kinda cakes I love!

    • From Tanisha Carlile
    • 08/03/18
    • via Facebook
  • Jen was so easy to work with, flexible with requests, and made ordering and delivery seamless.

    Jen and her team nailed it on our wedding cake + cupcakes! Jen was so easy to work with, flexible with requests, and made ordering and delivery seamless. Our guests loved the cupcakes! We were even able to rent a large cupcake stand from the shop, which made our display so much easier (and affordable!) Highly recommend!

    • From Pat M.
    • 08/03/18
    • via Yelp
  • Jen was so easy to work with, flexible with requests, and made ordering and delivery seamless.

    Jen and her team nailed it on our wedding cake + cupcakes! Jen was so easy to work with, flexible with requests, and made ordering and delivery seamless. Our guests loved the cupcakes! We were even able to rent a large cupcake stand from the shop, which made our display so much easier (and affordable!) Highly recommend!

    • From Pat M.
    • 08/03/18
    • via Yelp
  • Angel Cakes supplied the cupcakes for our wedding and they were a huge hit!

    Angel Cakes supplied the cupcakes for our wedding and they were a huge hit! They have so many flavors to choose from and every flavor we chose was absolutely fantastic. We even swung by again before flying back to the East Coast to get a couple more for the road (er... air). The staff is really friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend them!

    • From Tyler K.
    • 08/02/18
    • via Yelp
  • They make the best cupcakes and cakes !

    They make the best cupcakes and cakes ! They use pure wholesome ingredients . I can never settle for anything else...thank you Angel cakes!

    • From Faisa Kaaid
    • 08/01/18
    • via Facebook
  • Absolutely delicious cupcakes, with both creative flavors and classic ones!

    Absolutely delicious cupcakes, with both creative flavors and classic ones! I ordered a bulk order for my sister's babyshower and the process couldn't have been easier. Everyone loved the cupcakes and asked where they were from. I'll definitely be ordering again from Jen and Angel Cakes in the future!

    • From Sara D.
    • 08/01/18
    • via Yelp
  • Excellent cupcakes.

    Excellent cupcakes. Ordered for a 30 person dinner party and was a smashing success. Highly recommend.

    • From Susan T.
    • 07/30/18
    • via Yelp
  • Light, moist, just sweet enough, they gave me a warm chill bump with every bite.

    For my future wedding reception, I have decided my wish will be to have Jen Angel and her bombastic cup cakes there!

    I sampled at least three of mini gems at the Yelp Hella Bubbles YEE. Light, moist, just sweet enough, they gave me a warm chill bump with every bite. 

    My family has roots in Oakland for over three generations. I found a touching story about their location in West Oakland. Well worth reading. 

    oaklandmomma.com/2016/03…

    While I have no current plans to get married soon, I am planning to sign up for Angel's Cupcake of the Month Club. A dozen heavenly fancy cupcakes are delivered to your door or for pick up. This way I will enjoy savoring my future choices for that special day!

    • From David N.
    • 07/28/18
    • via Yelp
  • My world and taste buds are blown away.

    Omg. Nectarine sage cupcake? Go. Right. Now!! My world and taste buds are blown away. Yum!

    • From Melinda P.
    • 07/20/18
    • via Yelp
  • Several parents finished eating their kids left overs, and then decided they wanted their own slice!

    I have opened a yelp acct, just so that I can write a review for this business!  
    My daughter's first birthday cake was made by Angel Cakes and when we wanted something special this past June for her 4th birthday, I reached out to Jen again.  I probably emailed her 10 times because we wanted a purple rainbow unicorn cake (don't ask).  Also, we went from a small cake for 15 people to eventually a cake for about 30 people!  Our cake looked amazing when we picked it up.  She had it packed up really well (we drove from Oakland to north berkeley), and she helped put it in my car!   
    Anyway, all this aside, once we cut the cake and ate it, it was AMAZING as expected!  Several parents finished eating their kids left overs, and then decided they wanted their own slice!  

    Also, I have eaten several of her cupcakes and they are all great!  Thank you so much Jen!

    • From Tina N.
    • 07/14/18
    • via Yelp
  • Everything is ALWAYS perfect.

    So many flavors to choose from. We make a large order of cupcakes for all of our birthdays and everything is ALWAYS perfect.

    • From Michaelia Baskerville
    • 07/10/18
    • via Google
  • Everything is ALWAYS perfect.

    So many flavors to choose from. We make a large order of cupcakes for all of our birthdays and everything is ALWAYS perfect.

    • From Michaelia Baskerville
    • 07/10/18
    • via Google
  • Jen and her team were wonderful to work with for our wedding cupcake order!

    Jen and her team were wonderful to work with for our wedding cupcake order! Our cutting cake was beautiful and our guests loved all the different flavors (especially the salted caramel)! Thanks for helping make our special day extra special!

    • From Anusha N.
    • 07/10/18
    • via Yelp
  • Excellent job!

    I got an assortment of vegan cupcakes for my sister's 80th birthday. I didn't tell and no one asked if they were vegan, so my family members ate healthy for once and truly enjoyed there dessert. Excellent job!

    • From Cecilia B.
    • 07/09/18
    • via Yelp
  • Everyone-and I mean everyone- raved about how delicious the cake was.

    Delicious!! Angel Cakes provided our wedding cake and boy did they deliver!!! Great communication with the owner, and so easy to work with. We went with a fresh strawberry vegan cake with large rosettes design and it came out beautifully. Everyone-and I mean everyone- raved about how delicious the cake was. I can't recommend Angel Cakes enough.  You won't be disappointed!

    • From Gabriela C.
    • 07/04/18
    • via Yelp
  • Really affordable really yummy cake!

    Really affordable really yummy cake! I wanted regular old cake for my wedding so I got a stack cake and also some gluten free cupcakes. We had lemon cake with raspberry jam & fresh raspberries. YUM! It was a big hit. Jen was lovely to work with. The whole process was really easy.

    • From Signe P.
    • 07/03/18
    • via Yelp
  • One just wasn’t enough with all the unique flavors.

    I bought a half dozen cupcakes and ended up eating 3 cupcakes. One just wasn't enough with all the unique flavors. All 3 were yummy!

    • From Sonya C.
    • 06/30/18
    • via Yelp
  • Out of this world cupcakes

    Out of this world cupcakes - I had a meyer lemon cupcake with lemon curd and cream topping and a salted caramel cupcake with spectacular caramel topping. The cake was perfectly light (not too heavy, not too sweet) and the icing was airy and delicious.

    • From Camille K.
    • 06/28/18
    • via Yelp
  • Highly recommend this hidden gem.

    Bought several different cupcakes for a birthday celebration and they were all yummy.  Highly recommend this hidden gem.

    • From Azar H.
    • 06/28/18
    • via Yelp
  • I regret not ordering more!!

    Jen and her crew are amazing! Easy communication with her. Her staff is super friendly. Her employee with the glass, black hair and cool tattoos was very friendly and super helpful. I order a three tier cake and 240 mini cupcakes for my wedding, and let me tell you i should have order more!! all my guest loved the cupcakes and the cake!!! I regret not ordering more!! I have a few more events that I will definitely get my cakes and cup cakes from Jen. You will NOT regret getting your cupcakes/Cake from her. She does not work with fondant but made a beautiful Butter cream cake for my wedding.

    • From Mario E.
    • 06/25/18
    • via Yelp
  • The staff was very communicative and flexible throughout the process and easy to work with.

    Ordered mini and regular cupcakes here for my housewarming party. The staff was very communicative and flexible throughout the process and easy to work with. I ordered a variety and loved all of them except the caramel filled one just cause I thought it was too much caramel. Other than that, I loved all of them! They were soft and flavorful and a big hit at my party. 

    The cost was fair as well. The only down side was driving 50 min to pick it up. The shop itself didn't look so clean but overall I was happy with my order.

    • From Lucky N.
    • 06/25/18
    • via Yelp
  • Wonderful tasty mini cupcakes for my son’s Eagle Court of Honor.

    Wonderful tasty mini cupcakes for my son's Eagle Court of Honor. The only treats served and were a big hit!

    • From Linda K.
    • 06/25/18
    • via Yelp
  • You’ve proven that Vegan baked goods are just as good as Non-Vegan.

    Thank you for the delicious birthday cake & cupcakes for my daughter special day!!We're very pleased with our most recent purchases. You've proven that Vegan baked goods are just as good as Non-Vegan. Your sweet personality & professionalism also made it a good experience. We will continue to patronize your business.#Delicious#Vegan

    • From Tamika L.
    • 06/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • SEAMLESS AND PROFESSIONAL.

    Had initial cake tasting for baby shower planned for two months later. Appointment was quick and very professional, answering all questions we had with absolutely no pressure to book. After tasting several flavors, we decided to go with Angel Cakes Cupcakes to make my baby shower cake because of our overall experience and the flavors we'd tasted. After a mishap with the person who was supposed to make cupcakes for the shower, we decided to place an additional order two weeks before my event for a dozen cupcakes.  Again...SEAMLESS AND PROFESSIONAL. Even though her location is a bit far from me (I am in Vallejo and she in Oakland) she will now be my go-to for any bakery needs for my events. 
    Thank you, Jen Angel!!! Everyone loved the KeyLime and Salted Caramel flavored cake. Looking forward to next time.

    • From Tonya T.
    • 06/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • Angel Cakes Cupcakes will def be my go-to for special events, without a doubt.

    Ordering process was so easy and convenient which was super helpful as I was planning a party "on the go" as I was super busy with work. Pick up was great. And of course- the cupcakes were DELICIOUS!! I felt they were better than Sift cupcakes and many people agreed. Angel Cakes Cupcakes will def be my go-to for special events, without a doubt.

    • From Ashley M.
    • 06/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • I ordered 40 cupcakes for my son’s birthday party and it couldn’t have been easier.

    Jen is great. The cupcakes are wonderful. I ordered 40 cupcakes for my son's birthday party and it couldn't have been easier. Jen worked with the birthday theme and everything from initial payment to delivery went smoothly. Jen is organized and efficient. I will definitely use Angel Cakes in the future.

    • From Mary D.
    • 06/23/18
    • via Yelp
  • We highly recommend Angel Cakes to all of our friends and family.

    My wife and I used Angel Cakes for our wedding cake. The staff is super professional and approachable, and the cake was beautiful and most importantly it was delicious! 
    Our wedding guests commented on how much they enjoyed the cake, and some of them even had a second helping..... so glad we ordered enough.
    Jen, was so easy to work with and made us feel at ease with our request and really came through for us. We highly recommend Angel Cakes to all of our friends and family. Thank you so much for helping us make our wedding day so memorable.

    • From Jess M.
    • 06/18/18
    • via Yelp
  • Every bit of my experience was sweet!

    I have driven by this specialty bakery for months now. After taking a couple seconds one day to have a look inside and meet the owner. I knew that they were going to be the place to have special event cakes made. So for my sons 13th birthday I ordered from their extensive list of amazing flavors. (He picked the cookies and cream!) 
     Every bit of my experience was sweet! They were amazing. The cake was better than perfect.
     I can say that Angle Cakes knows what makes people smile and they love what they do!
    I highly recommend them! 
    They will for sure see me as a returning customer.

    • From Martin B.
    • 06/17/18
    • via Yelp
  • Yummmmmmmmmmm!

    Yummmmmmmmmmm! Super good. Will go back again for sure.

    • From Tommy Hession
    • 06/10/18
    • via Google
  • Each cupcake had a perfect texture and perfectly balanced, authentic flavor.

    Angel Cakes, where have you been all my life??
    I had my first taste of 4 different flavors yesterday. It was impossible to choose which one was best. Each cupcake had a perfect texture and perfectly balanced, authentic flavor. No artificial flavoring aftertastes, or gritty, poorly blended frosting. 
    The name well suits the product.

    • From Valerie Tax
    • 06/08/18
    • via Facebook
  • SO MANY OPTIONS, and not just your typical flavors!

    My sister has sophisticated taste buds and her favorite is Lavendar. Angel Cakes was the only place to list Lavendar as a flavor. I was suprised by their flavor list. SO MANY OPTIONS, and not just your typical flavors! I just want to order custom cupcakes now for me haha. We got the Blueberry Lavendar, Lavender Vanilla, Lemon Raspberry and Earl Grey. I also tried their cupcakes when in store- the vanilla and salted caramel. They do a really good caramel and the vanilla was great. The Lavendar cupcakes were beyond what I expected. The earl grey and lemon were our favorites! I didn't know what to for the Earl Grey, but that was good. I also like how they don't leave their cupcakes plain or with those typical inedible candies, but with cute sprinkles and sometimes coloring. Their cupcakes don't taste like a gourmet grocery store cake, thank God, unlike some cupcake places unfortunately do- lots of shortening and sugar at those places I guess? Not Angel Cakes though! These cupcakes are less artificial tasting and feel more original. It was a great event and the cupcakes were devoured! Thank you! (Also, despite some pictures, they don't do fondant decorations at all. We ended up using another place for decorations and just placed them on top the day of. You can also buy photo images on etsy or amazon.)

    • From Lexi L.
    • 06/07/18
    • via Yelp
  • They were absolutely gorgeous in appearance, and the flavor and texture were absolutely spot on.

    I was planning a small wedding, 25 people total.....and four of those guests were vegan. My husband reeeeeally wanted an actual cake and our bakery didn't have a vegan cake on offer, so I poked around until I found Angel Cakes.

    When I sent my vegan guests the list of flavors they were really excited. We wound up getting six blueberry lavender cupcakes and six peanut butter cup. I had tasted vegan cupcakes around the San Jose area and hadn't been super thrilled with the textures, but I had run out of time for tasting so I just ordered from Angel cakes and crossed my fingers.

    WOW the cupcakes were perfect! They were absolutely gorgeous in appearance, and the flavor and texture were absolutely spot on. They vanished almost immediately. 

    Since the wedding I've gone mostly vegan as well, so I know where I will be headed when I need some sweets!

    • From Catherine B.
    • 05/30/18
    • via Yelp
  • I HIGHLY recommend tasting flavors you might not originally consider.

    These cupcakes are amazing! My husband and I wanted cupcakes instead of a cake at our wedding. Jen made the process so easy and stress-free! They were a huge hit. We couldn't make up our minds and had 4 different flavors- Snickerdoodle, Grapefruit Miso, Dark Chocolate Raspberry, and the Makana. I HIGHLY recommend tasting flavors you might not originally consider. They're amazing.

    • From Catherine D.
    • 05/29/18
    • via Yelp
  • Omg . Wow .amazing!!

    Omg . Wow .amazing!! I'm in love I literally bit in to this fresh strawberry cupcake and I was reminded that god is real because this is a delight sent from heaven

    • From Kelly A.
    • 05/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • I highly recommend Angel Cakes and will continue to order from them in the future.

    Jen made us a wonderful blue and white salted chocolate 8" round/3 layer swirl cake for a birthday. I placed my order short notice (a week in advance) and she was able to work with me and have the cake ready on time. very reasonable price and it was delicious. This is the second time I've ordered from Angel Cakes. 

    The first time I order 1 dozen red velvet cake pops,1 dozen vanilla cake pops, 1 dozen mini strawberry almond caramel vegan cupcakes, and 1 dozen mini caramel macchiato vegan cupcakes for a bridal shower. they were a hit and super delicious. you couldn't even tell they were vegan cupcakes. 

    I highly recommend Angel Cakes and will continue to order from them in the future.

    • From Sammy E.
    • 05/24/18
    • via Yelp
  • Everyone loved them and my son had an awesome time eating his first sugary treat :)

    Aaah what can I say - I found angels cake by accident. I was pretty bummed when I could not get a hold of my regular patisserie place. I drove past even after living in the east bay for so long. Their cupcakes were amazing. I tried red velvet , chocolate , vanilla and a salted caramel. We had all 4 finished before dinner time. That's when I contacted Angel directly and after a few emails we came down to what was the best investment I made for my sons first birthday party. The cake, cupcakes and cake pops all were as tasty as good looking. Everyone loved them and my son had an awesome time eating his first sugary treat :) 

    Thank you again for making our special day very tasty :)

    • From Rubab W.
    • 05/23/18
    • via Yelp
  • Their flavors are AMAZING.

    This shop rocks. Their flavors are AMAZING. Our wedding cake was stunningly decorated with the flowers we supplied. Very low stress, true professionals. We had three tiers: lemon, samoa and german chocolate. So good.

    • From Heather W.
    • 05/23/18
    • via Yelp
  • Delicious beyond anything I’ve found in Oakland

    Not only are these delicious beyond anything I've found in oakland, they are kind and helpful people here too.

    • From Alex Schoenfeldt
    • 05/10/18
    • via Google
  • Our whole experience working with them for the wedding was incredible

    We had Angel Cakes cupcakes at our wedding and they were a huge hit. Some people had 3! Word to the wise... order more than you think you will need. They are so yummy! Our whole experience working with them for the wedding was incredible - we were able to try multiple flavors and everything was perfect on the big day. 5 Stars!

    • From Brie T.
    • 05/10/18
    • via Yelp
  • By far the best cupcakes I’ve ever had & the service was great!

    OMG, I'm sold!!! Driving by & decided to stop, ordered a white salted caramel, chocolate salted caramel, red velvet & a vanilla bean. By far the best cupcakes I've ever had & the service was great! , I will be returning

    • From Losa E.
    • 04/25/18
    • via Yelp
  • I’m really glad I found this place.

    I'm really glad I found this place. The customer service was great, ordering was easy and the cupcakes were awesome. I will definitely order more!!!

    • From LaSeana J.
    • 04/22/18
    • via Yelp
  • Wonderful selection of flavors and well made cupcakes.

    Wonderful selection of flavors and well made cupcakes. The staff is really friendly and has amazing patience as they help you make the right decision. The lemon curd and red velvet were group favorites.

    • From Annette P.
    • 04/19/18
    • via Yelp
  • They are always moist and fluffy.

    I've had many Angel Cakes cupcakes over a number of years and my experience has always been great. They are always moist and fluffy. The owner and employees of the shop are great people, too.

    • From DeAnna Dawn Tibbs
    • 04/18/18
    • via Facebook
  • I’d recommend stopping by for a bite, and bringing a box or two to your office mates.

    Consistently turning out some of the most innovative flavor combinations, and consistently giving back to the community with anything leftover!!! I’d recommend stopping by for a bite, and bringing a box or two to your office mates.

  • I love the cupcakes

    I love the cupcakes (there is one w/ pear and blue cheese, omg!) and I love that this is a business that engages in such a mindful way with the community; acts locally and gives back in many ways. I'm excited to see the new weekend hours!

    • From Anna Goldstein
    • 04/17/18
    • via Facebook
  • The best cupcakes ever!

    The best cupcakes ever! Really they have the most delicious and balanced flavors. My favorites include salted chocolate caramel, dulce de leche, and fresh strawberry but everything is good. And knowing I can get gluten free and vegan cupcakes there is a huge help meeting the dietary needs of a mixed group. Angel Cakes is my go to place for every birthday and meeting. Oh and they do custom cake orders too with advance orders.

    • From Lora Bartlett
    • 04/17/18
    • via Facebook
  • They were even better than I remember.

    It's been a while since I reviewed Angel Cakes, though I have had them regularly. My housemate brought some home from an event last weekend and shared them. They were even better than I remember. I think the flavors were Dulce de Leche, lemon, and vanilla. I can't imagine their cupcakes being described as dry. Still 5* cupcakes and 5* people at this shop.

    • From DeAnna T.
    • 04/17/18
    • via Yelp
  • Good vegan cake selections.

    Good vegan cake selections.
     

    • From Kim Fang
    • 04/10/18
    • via Google
  • I have ordered from Angel Cakes a few times for work because everyone always LOVES them.

    I have ordered from Angel Cakes a few times for work because everyone always LOVES them. Their cupcakes are so fluffy what we love the most is that they are the perfect amount of sweetness. 

    Will definitely order again! :)

    • From Kelli M.
    • 04/09/18
    • via Yelp
  • We LOVED our wedding mini cupcakes!!

    We LOVED our wedding mini cupcakes!!  It was so fun to select the cakes and the customer service was phenomenal. Plus, they support local ingredient suppliers. 

    We went with Mexican Chocolate, Coconut Lime and Carrot Cake w Maple Frosting. They were a huge hit! Each one was delicious. 
     

    • From Nora P.
    • 04/07/18
    • via Yelp
  • We ordered Angel Cakes for our wedding dessert bar and it was such a huge hit!!

    We ordered Angel Cakes for our wedding dessert bar and it was such a huge hit!! Our family loved the mini cupcakes/ super moist!! We had a cupcake tasting which helped us nail down the to the following: Meyer Lemon with Raspberry, Samoa, and Strawberry (so fresh!).

    Definitely can't wait until the next time I host a big party so I can get more cakes from Jen!

    • From Shelly L.
    • 03/19/18
    • via Yelp
  • Flavors galore and there’s something for everyone!

    This little gem is an amazing find! If you're anywhere in the Bay, you must stop in! The ladies are the absolute sweetest and most helpful ever! They have an incredible variety of cupcakes and they are ALLLLL delicious! You don't want to pass by this shop. It's worth the time to go in, pick up some treats and say hello. You won't regret it! Flavors galore and there's something for everyone!

    • From Sabrina Laffan
    • 03/10/18
    • via Google
  • These cupcakes were aaaaaamazing.

    I was looking for cupcakes for my girlfriend's birthday- I saw a lot of places on yelp but Angel Cakes really stood out to me because of the style of cupcakes Jen makes. I bought a dozen half red velvet and half vanilla vanilla with a birthday message on all 12 cupcakes. I also bought a Meyer lemon cupcake and a snickerdoodle to try a day before the party because I couldn't wait for my girlfriend and I to try them, and my girlfriend loves snickerdoodle cookies. These cupcakes were aaaaaamazing. The Meyer lemon is to die for- so moist and just the right amount of lemon to make the perfect cupcake, and the snickerdoodle tasted just like a snickerdoodle cookie. 

    Jen's cupcakes were delicious and my girlfriend's family loved them. Jen was also so accommodating throughout the whole process, and listened to my every want and need for my order. I will definitely be ordering more cupcakes from her!!

    • From Tiana A.
    • 03/10/18
    • via Yelp
  • Thank you Angel cakes, great job!

    I ordered 4 vegan flavors of mini cupcakes for my baby shower. They were amazing! Most of our friends aren't vegan and they said they were the best cupcakes they have tried.
    Not only the flavors were incredible but the presentation was really cute and delicate. Ordering mini ones was great for being able to try all the flavors and for kids size too.
    They were all gone by the end of the party.
    My favorite ones was the chocolate hazelnut and the almond apricot.
    Delicious!
    Thank you Angel cakes, great job!

    • From Valentina Isabel A.
    • 03/07/18
    • via Yelp
  • Mexican Chocolate, Apricot Almond (gluten-free) and Maple Bacon were sensational!

    Ordered three dozen cupcakes as a gift...the Mexican Chocolate, Apricot Almond (gluten-free) and Maple Bacon were sensational!  There was even bacon in the cupcake and the frosting!  Have also had the Fig Goat Cheese cupcake which was equally wonderful but seasonal so I can't wait until it comes back.  All the cupcakes are decorated well.

    • From Susan H.
    • 02/25/18
    • via Yelp
  • These cupcakes are perfection and heads above any other ones I have had in the Bay Area.

    Cupcakes are ALWAYS my "fav" go to sweet treat and when I recently celebrated my birthday, I made a request for Angel Cupcakes.
    These cupcakes are perfection and heads above any other ones I have had in the Bay Area. I should know, I have been known to travel many miles in search of a "good" cupcake. The cake is very moist and the frosting not overly sweet. They present as "works of edible art." 

    What more is needed to be said !

    We are very lucky to have Angel Cupcakes in the heart of the Oakland community.

    • From Joycelyn R.
    • 02/23/18
    • via Yelp
  • If we ever order a cake or cupcakes again Angel Cakes will be our first choice.

    Our wedding cake was amazing. It’s been almost four months and I still think about the amazing vegan toasted coconut cake and all three kinds of cupcakes we had for our ceremony. No one said “oh they’re vegan...” everyone loved them and wanted to take some home. The process was easy and if we ever order a cake or cupcakes again Angel Cakes will be our first choice. Thank you!!!!

  • Interesting experimental taste combinations

    A large variety of regular flavors including some interesting experimental taste combinations

    • From Ken Ingram
    • 02/10/18
    • via Google
  • As good as it gets!!

    I ordered cupcakes from Angel Cakes for a work event.  Went with three different flavors (double chocolate, snickerdoodle, vanilla salted caramel).  All were beautiful, delicious and everybody loved them!  Ordered in advance, ready when we stopped by to pick them up.  As good as it gets!!

    The staff was very helpful in providing guidance for choosing flavors and gave me good advice on number of varieties to order and how many.  No attempt to sell me more than I would need.

    Thank you Angel Cakes.  I will definitely recommend you to friends and order from you again.

    • From Peggy T.
    • 02/06/18
    • via Yelp
  • The cupcakes were a hit!

    I randomly ordered cupcakes from Angel Cake for for my baby shower and I'm extremely happy I did! The cupcakes were a hit! Jen was extremely helpful with her recommendations of favors and super accommodating. We ordered Meyers lemon, champagne mimosa and my favorite, salted Carmel chocolate mini cupcakes. The cupcakes were so moist and delicious, i should have ordered the full size cupcakes ! I would highly recommend Angel Cakes for your next event !

    • From Jade T.
    • 02/04/18
    • via Yelp
  • It’s impressive that the gluten free and vegan options are just as tasty as the normal cupcakes!

    We love Angel Cakes! It's impressive that the gluten free and vegan options are just as tasty as the normal cupcakes! And you wouldn't be able to tell the difference. We used Angel Cakes for our wedding 4 years ago (cutting cake & cupcakes), and just recently for our baby shower. Our favorite flavors are: red velvet, lavender and carrot cake. Also highly enjoyable are Meyer lemon and Mexican chocolate.

    • From g i.
    • 01/18/18
    • via Yelp
  • Everyone loved it all!

    Thank you for making my son's 1st birthday party cake and mini cupcakes! They were lovely and so delicious!! We had a three layer lemon meyer cream cake and then chose salted chocolate caramel, spicy mango and hot buttered rum for cupcakes. Everyone loved it all! Would definitely highly recommend!

    • From Liz L.
    • 01/18/18
    • via Yelp
  • All lovely and so delicious!

    Had my baby's first birthday cake and mini cupcakes from here and they were great!! Highly recommend the lemon meyer cream, chocolate salted caramel, spicy mango and hot buttered rum. All lovely and so delicious! Everyone loved them.

    • From Liz Lee
    • 01/10/18
    • via Google
  • As delicious as they are adorable!

    Their cupcakes are just as delicious as they are adorable! Lots of yummy vegan and gluten free options.
     

    • From Taylor Armstrong
    • 01/10/18
    • via Google
  • I would definitely recommend Angel Cakes if you are seeking catering for your wedding

    We worked with Jen to coordinate vegan cupcakes and a cutting cake for our wedding this past October. The process was straightforward and easy-going, and Jen was always quick to respond to my e-mails. We paid a $10 tasting fee and were able to do two tastings before deciding on the flavors we would feature at our wedding (not an easy decision, they were all incredible). Jen was able to offer up some good suggestions in regards to how many types of flavors should be featured, and how many cupcakes should be ordered based on our guest count. The pick-up process was easy, and she told us exactly how we should store the cupcakes for the night before (our wedding was pretty far from Oakland). They cake and cupcakes were beautiful and delicious, and were a big hit with our guests. We also loved the Angel Cakes mug she threw in with our order! I would definitely recommend Angel Cakes if you are seeking catering for your wedding, or any big event. I will be ordering from Jen in the future, and will continue to stop in for cupcakes when I am in the area!

    • From Amanda F.
    • 12/20/17
    • via Yelp
  • Beautiful and delicious cakes!

    Beautiful and delicious cakes! Just tried their cake at my friend's event recently. I am planning to use them for my next event. :)

    • From Mariya M.
    • 12/14/17
    • via Yelp
  • Thank you very much for the amazing cakes and cupcakes.

    I'm so glad that I ordered the mini cupcakes and cakes at Angel for my company party. It's was delicious. Everyone loves it. Thank you very much for the amazing cakes and cupcakes.

    • From Julia W.
    • 12/14/17
    • via Yelp
  • I’m so glad I found Angel Cakes!

    I searched around for mini cupcakes for my son's 2nd birthday party (that we were also inviting a lot of our friends to as well), and I'm so glad I found Angel Cakes! They were the most affordable option that I found, and the cupcakes were delicious!! We ordered 7 dozens mini cupcakes in 7 different flavors and they couldn't have been easier to work with. Loved all the flavors (people are right the lemon meyer is insanely good!). Will definitely order from them again for my next event!

    • From Ashley P.
    • 12/13/17
    • via Yelp
  • So damn good.

    So damn good. My favorite is the Humboldt (pear and blue cheese). It sounds funky but it's AMAZING. I don't even like fruit in my sweets, but I seriously can't get enough

    • From Rachel S.
    • 12/07/17
    • via Yelp
  • Delightful

    Utterly delightful, every time.

    • From Edward H.
    • 12/05/17
    • via Yelp
  • There always seem to be new types of cupcakes with fun and tasty flavor combinations.

    What makes Angel Cakes incredible is not only the really great cupcakes but also the amazing creativity.  While I have my favorites (Funfetti or the salted caramel or the chocolate raspberry), there always seem to be new types of cupcakes with fun and tasty flavor combinations.  The toughest decision is whether to stay with a cupcake I love or try one of their new creations (note: I usually end up with both!).  Combine all that with great customer service and it's my favorite bakery/cupcake place anywhere.

    • From Scott G.
    • 11/30/17
    • via Yelp